Michigan Marriage License

Where to get your Michigan marriage license 

In Michigan a marriage license is only issued at a Michigan County Clerk’s office.

Couples arrive at our location with their valid, Michigan marriage license.

Getting a marriage license is a simple process, for a very low fee.

Michigan residents apply for a marriage license in the county in which either person to be married lives (as shown on driver’s license, state ID, etc).

Non-residents (out-of-state residents) apply at the Washtenaw County Clerk, Ann Arbor, Michigan.

easiest way to get a marriage license in michagn

Occasionally the links (below) will be changed within a county website. If you find that a link isn’t working, please let us know. Thanks!

Washtenaw County Marriage License Information:


Oakland County Marriage License Information:


Wayne County Marriage License Information:


Eaton County Marriage License Information:


Genesee County Marriage License Information:


Ingham County Marriage License Information:


Lenewee County Marriage License Information:


Livingston County Marriage License Information:


Macomb County Marriage License Information:


Contact the County Clerk’s office where your license was/will be issued, with all questions, or clarification of information, regarding your marriage license.

If you are a Michigan resident and do not see your Michigan county listed, simply search online “your county name + county clerk + marriage license”.

Any questions regarding: name change following your marriage, I.D. needed, witness requirements, etc. can be answered at your County Clerk’s office where you will be applying for your license. We do not advise on marriage license information. We have found all of the County Clerks to be very kind and helpful.

The following is marriage license information was copied from the “State of Michigan Marriage License” website.

ID Requirement:

Picture ID such as a driver’s license, state issued ID, Social Security info., Passport.

Residency Requirement:

You do not have to be a resident of Michigan to obtain a marriage license and be married in Michigan.

Residents need to apply for their marriage license in the county in which one of them lives.

Non-residents need to apply for their marriage license in the county where they plan on getting married.


Application Requirement:

Applicants intending to marry must obtain a marriage license from the county clerk in the county in which one of the parties lives (or, if both parties are non-residents, in the county where the marriage is to be performed), and deliver it to the person who is to solemnize the marriage, before the marriage can be performed. Both applicants are not required to appear in person at the time of applying.

However, they will be required to complete all information about both applicants: (1) A photocopy of the front and back of the other person’s driver’s license, (2) full names, (3) addresses, (4) dates and places of birth, (5) bride’s name after marriage.

Identification requirements vary in each county. A valid drivers license or certified copy of birth certificate may be requested. No premarital counseling or blood tests required.

Waiting Period: 3 days. The county clerk can waive the 3 day waiting period for “good and sufficient cause shown. “Valid: License is valid for 33 days (check your expiration date). The license can only be used within the State of Michigan.

Solemnization/Vows: No specific vows or oath are required. The parties solemnly declare that they take each other as their husband/wife before at least two witnesses and the Officiant. After which, the Marriage License is solemnized with signatures of both parties to be married, the Marriage Officiant and two witnesses, 18 years or older.













wordpress stat